ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Held on 5th December 2021 @ 11.00am via Zoom and Premier Inn, Manchester Airport

Chairman welcomed and thanked all licence holders who attended the Annual General meeting be it through the Zoom link or live at Premier Inn, Manchester Airport.

Present (In Person)	Present (via Zoom)	
Darren Owen (Chair)	Heulwen Bulman (Secretary)	Dai John Edwards
Anthony Fettah	Lorraine Westall (Admin)	Bret Strickland
Kirsty Lee	Trudy Launchbury	Joy Swinbank
Frank Hushka	Geoff Robson	George Button
Ric Park	Makayla Morris	Ryan O'Neill
Julie Park	Lee Morris	Barry Delaney
Dawn Forest	Brett Corbett	Hayley Cassells
Trevor Harding	Chloe Wakefield	Andrea Baker
Georgina Nicholson	Kelly Nott	Llyr Davies (Accountant)
Tamsin Towe	Debbie Wakefield	Colin Bevan
John Towe	Graham Smith	Michael Bevan
Charles Inglis jnr	Gwenan Thomas	Sarah Thomas
Jason Podmore	Jed Strickland	Garry O'Grady
Will Evans	Eric Witherspoon	Robert Millichap
Willy Forrester	John Wright (Rhyds)	

Apologies

Huw Evans, Craig Stevenson, Carol Jenkins & Jackie Maguire

Minutes of 2020 Annual General Meeting

Minutes of the 2020 AGM were displayed on the BHRC website and approved by George Button and seconded by Ryan O'Neil.

Chairman's Report

2021 season saw the return of many grass meetings as well as hard track meetings. A big thank you to all trainers and their assistance for all their hard work in getting these horses to the racetrack.

The newly appointed accountants PJE Accountancy will discuss and go through the accounts during the AGM.

A formal letter had been received from Dr McKenzie and his willingness for the PRAKAS funds to be transferred to LeTrot as Trotting will gain governance on the 1st January 2022, it was mentioned that the Terms of Reference has been drafted out to date.

The BHRC and IHRA were undergoing a new computer database system from a company called Equine Medi Records at a cost of £15,000 + VAT, IHRA would have a duplicate system to the BHRC.

2021 season saw the implementation of a one person one vote system and the Annual General Meeting voting system was done independently through the PJE Accountancy this year.

Regarding the Integrity Testing in 2021, it was noted that 181 tests were carried out, 104 full tests were taken and 77 blood gas tests were taken. A total of 6 positive tests had been found during the season and were undergoing investigation by an independent panel at the moment. It was noted that all tests were innocent until proven guilty.

A provisional list of fixtures were ready to be install on the BHRC website.

The nominations for the awards had been opened and licence holders were able to vote, the annual awards dinner would be held on Saturday 15th January 2022.

The Chairman thanked all that supported him whilst in post and stressed that all the recent abuse in person and on social media was totally unacceptable and he wished the new board of directors the best for the coming year.

Presentation of Accounts

The annual accounts for year ending 31st March 2021 had been displayed on the BHRC website many questions were raised by members. Licence holders requested that a fuller version of the accounts be made available and asked why there were no separate set of accounts for the PRAKAS & Sire Stakes Accounts.

It was agreed that the Annual Accounts would be further itemised and re-circulated to the Directors and approved at a later date.

Retirement of members of the Board of Directors (longest serving 1/3) and re-election

It was noted that 7 directors would be re-elected at the AGM and the new 7 members would be elected in the members meeting that followed the AGM.

Since the voting slips had been posted out to licence holders, Mr Gareth Bevan had resigned as director to the Board which left only 6 directors to be voted on.

	Yes	No	Abstain	
Barry Delaney	134	112	17	Remains as director
Will Evans	200	55	8	Remains as director
Carol Jenkins	133	116	14	Remains as director
Julie Park	201	51	11	Remains as director
Jason Podmore	204	53	6	Remains as director
John Towe	195	52	16	Remains as director

Retirement of the Chairman and the election of a new Chairman

Due to the retirement of Mr Darren Owen, Mr John Towe acted as Chairman for the remainder of the meeting.

Election of Vice-Chairman

No candidate had been put forward for the post of Vice-Chairman.

Any Other Business

Julie Park thanked and John Towe seconded, Mr Darren Owen for all his hard work during the past two years.

As there was no other business the meeting drew to a close at 1.20 pm & all members that wished to attend the members meeting that followed, were asked to join by the same code, in 20 minutes.